The Pride Interfaith Coalition began in 1994 presenting an annual award each year to a person or organization who had demonstrated outstanding commitment and courage working for the full-inclusion of LGBTQ people in communities of faith. Presenting this award has become a popular centerpiece of our annual Pride Interfaith Service and expresses the deep diversity of our communities’ faith and service.

Pride Interfaith Award Recipients

2018 LGBT Asylum Task Force
2017 The Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence
2016 Massachusetts Transgender Political Coalition
2015 Samuel Brinton – National Center for Lesbian Rights’ #BornPerfect Campaign
2014 Hispanic Black Gay Coalition
2013 Keshet – Jewish
2012 Union United Methodist Church – United Methodist
2011 Ken and Marcia Garber – Catholic
2010 Rev. Ann B. Day – United Church of Christ
2009 Boston Transgender Day of Remembrance
2008 For the Bible Tells Me So and Daniel Karslake, Director
2007 The Reverend Elder Troy Perry – Metropolitan Community Churches
2006 Rev. Walter Cuenin – Roman Catholic
2005 Rev. Dr. Norman Kansfield – Reformed Church in America
2004 The Right Reverend Gene Robinson – Episcopal Church
2003 Religious Coalition for the Freedom to Marry, The Freedom to Marry Coalition
2002 Rev. Martin McLee – Union United Methodist Church, Boston
2001 First Parish, Sudbury – Unitarian Universalist
2000 Central Conference of American Rabbis – Reform Judaism
1999 Rev. Jimmy Creech – United Methodist
Rev. Mark Henderson – Federated Church, Sandwich, NH (American Baptist/United Methodist)
Rev. Gregory Dell – Broadway United Methodist Church, Chicago, IL
Rev. Julie Todd – New England Conference of the United Methodist Church
Christ Church, Lynn – United Methodist
1998 Congregation Am Tikva, Brookline – Judaism
1997 Dignity/Boston – Progressive and Inclusive Catholic
1996 Bishop Walter Righter – Episcopal Church
1995 Mark O’Brien – Pride Interfaith Coalition
1994 Ecumenical Task Force on AIDS
1993 Rev. Bob Wheatly – Founder, Pride Interfaith Service